Dr Ashraf Gamal El Din

Chief Executive Officer
Hawkamah - the Institute for Governance (UAE)

Dr Ashraf Gamal El Din is the Chief Executive Officer of Hawkamah, the Institute for Corporate Governance, at Dubai International Finance Centre. He is a Fellow and Certified Governance Expert from the Chartered Governance Institute, UK (ICSA). He was a jury member of the Arabia CSR Award. Prior to joining Hawkamah, Dr. Ashraf was the Executive Chairman of Egypt Post. Before that, he was the Deputy Executive Director of the Egyptian Banking Institute, the training arm of the Central Bank of Egypt. He was also the founder and Project Manager of the Egyptian Corporate Responsibility Centre, working on promoting the concepts and application of SR in Egypt. Furthermore, he was the Executive Director of the Egyptian Institute of Directors (EloD), the Institute of Corporate Governance in Egypt and the Arab Region.

Dr Ashraf served as a board member and head of the Audit Committee in a number of listed and non-listed state-owned and family-owned companies, such as Egyptian Resorts Company, Sahl Hashish, Egypt Reinsurance, Misr Life Insurance, Suez Canal for Technology, Thebes International, Misr Qena Cement, just to name a few. He also served as a member of the General Assembly of the Holding Company for Transportation.

Dr Ashraf served as an advisor to the Minister of Investment from 2004 to 2010 on corporate governance, corporate social responsibility, privatisation, and restructuring.

Dr Ashraf is a Professor of Management at the Faculty of Commerce at Cairo University. He holds a PhD degree from Manchester University, UK, and a master’s degree in Public Administration from Carleton University, Canada. He further holds a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration from Cairo University with highest honours.

Stay in the Loop

Subscribe Today!

    Subscribe to be the first to know about UnderOne’s diversity, equity and inclusion awards news, judging panel reveals, ticket sales, and more.

    Copyright © 2024 UnderOne Diversity Inclusion Awards. All Rights Reserved.